Spiders as lunch?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

[email protected]

Reaction score
Just wondering if mantis diet could be supplemented with spiders?

(I hope it is ok i just fed one to my florida bark mantis and then thouht of it but there was no getting it back....)

Just wondering if mantis diet could be supplemented with spiders?(I hope it is ok i just fed one to my florida bark mantis and then thouht of it but there was no getting it back....)
i wouldnt see why not as long as there just common spiders and not some tropical poisens one (but id wait for the more experiance ppl to answer first im still a newbie just trying to help)

Everytime I find one it is fed to a mantis. Black widows too.

Spiders are deffinetly on the menue. Just use commonsense when feeding them to your mantids. For instance you would not try to feed a spider to a mantis that is the same size. I'm not saying a mantis cant take a spider the same size, but is it worth the risk to your pet. I usally feed my mantids spiders that are no bigger than the mantids head.

Wow that was fast but not as fast as the mantis ate it i typed the first post went back to him/her there was only like 10% left i will go catch some more so his/her friends can enjoy. :p

When I visited Chuck at the spider pharm he touched a spider on the ceiling and said that I could feed my mantis one of those, then came back and smiled and said that if I had rare of expensive mantis' that feeding the mantis any predator, especially a spider, may not be a good idea, and that the spider may take the mantis, so he was not really suggesting that I feed the spider to the mantis, unless I wanted to watch the ensuing show.

He did say that my mantis may lose, and smiled, so maybe get on his site and ask him what he thinks about the spider vs mantis issue.

Yea, they love spiders.