Traveling with Mantids

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shewynn

Reaction score
I travel a lot for work, usually by car rather than plane, for about a week at a time. Is it advisable for me to transport my mantid with me so I may provide daily care? What sort of travel tips do you all have?

Thanks for the help! I am new to this.

I keep my mantids in modifide storage containers so any time I want to take them out of the house all I have to do is grab a handle and go. I have taken my mantids on short car trips with no problems. (I always set the containers on the floor of my car so they sit flat, dont bounce, and wont slide off a seat if I have to make a hard turn or quick stop.) Mantids do fine on car trips as long as you dont leave them alone in your car. If you leave them alone in your car the sun can cause them to over heat. If your only going to be gone for a few days though they should be fine if you leave them at home. Just make sure they are well fed and watered before and after your trip.

I should also add that you might want to leave your mantis at home if they are getting ready to molt. If they happen to molt while your driving they could fall and be hurt. Hope this helps.

Ditto to all that kmsgameboy said :)

I'm also new to this but (from what I've experienced so far, at least) there are a few other things I personally keep in mind when bringing mantids out of the house for long periods.