Best Substrate

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ryanromaine

Reaction score
what do you think the best bedding or substrate is for a mantis? im new in the hobby and starting fast with a rapidly growing collection and need to know what is the most effective ground cover where the crickets will be eaten and the essentials and what not.

I use sponges. Cover the whole bottom with it. It hold moisture well and feeders can't hide. However, when mantids strike at feeders mantid claws can get stuck in the sponge a little. Mantids usually get them free pretty easy though.

Eco earth is entirely too messy and dries out fast. I used spaghnum (orchid) moss for years. It works great. Yes, some food can burrow into it, but I never found it to be that big of an issue. But after years I found the best and cheapest is just a couple layers of plain paper towel. I admit the paper towels are not very pleasing to the eye, but they work best.

i've kinda decided from what you guys said to put my really amazing, pre-sub or sub adult which are in nice enclosures on the spaghnum moss and the nymphs, which are in deli cups, on paper towel, thanks for the help

I was using sphagnum moss, but it's too easy for all the feeders to hide in it (and then die in it and smell bad). Right now I'm using some kind of mixture of coco bark and sand. I think it's called jungle bed. It has slow release of humidity after wetting and is mold resistant.

I'm with Rick on the paper towels. Cheap, effective, and super easy to tell when it is time to change it out.

I don't recommend any substrate beyond a layer of paper towel in something as small as a deli cup. Very easy to have too much moisture in such a small space. Can kill young nymphs. Also encourages fungal/mold growth and gives mites a place of constant moisture to reproduce.