First enclosure opinions.

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

riegs22

Reaction score
This is my first time I will be raising. I was curious if you guys think this would be suitable.

I have a 10 gallon tank which I was going to turn on its side, (so open top would now be the back of the tank) And then using glass dividers divide the tank into 3 sections. Each new section after all is in place would be around 10 inches tall and 7 icnhes wide and 12 inches long. I would put essentially a screen covering the back (which was the open top) which I could open each section seperatly. With the tank on its side It would be easier to access the bottom of each section to change out moss, dead crickets, ect...

Just curious if these enclousers would be wide and tall enough to house adult mantis. (as a species reference I was going to test out just some chinese as its my first trial)

Has anyone tried something similiar or is thre anything I should be carful not to do.

Also I see reptile liner sold at stores, This seems really easy if I could just use this on the floor of my tank , that way I could slide the whole piece out for cleaning. Would this be a decent way to keep moister and avoid mold.

Thanks and I will post pics if this seems ok when im done.

i can only really comment on the size, it sounds fine for pretty much all species excepting a few. for example it may be a bit too big for some smaller species, they may have trouble keeping well fed, but this is not such a big problem. also i dont think Idolomantis would do well in that size. and while i have not kept them, i would imagine species like Solygia would require a little more space as they are pretty massive. but for most species the size is fine, certainly for Tenodera (chinese mantis).