Is there a way to lower temperature in an enclosure?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sylph

Reaction score
Hey! I'm a newbie here in this forum. I live in a hot place. Sometimes, temperatures can get very high (35+°C or 95 °F) especially in the summer, so i was wondering if you guys have any suggestions to keep temperatures low in enclosures? Air conditioning and a refrigerator are impossible for me due to high costs here.

Last edited by a moderator:
Keep it in a shady area, and maybe in a cooler basement? What species are we talking about?

- MantisGirl13

Fulciniola sp. I believe they're a type of moss mantis? The seller told me the ideal temperature is 23-27°C  during the day and 18-23°C  at night. I've really wanted to take care of mantids like this for a while now so I was looking for advice since the temperature is my only problem

Interesting! I'd love to see some pics. I've never heard of this sp. before.

Where do you live? If you don't have A.C. then I don't really know what you could do.

- MantisGirl13

These are a small species so if you are keeping them in a small container is very hard to regulate the temperature of a container without changing it drastically (too hot or too cold). Warm air raises so you will often find that keeping the tank or cage on the floor will keep it a couple degrees cooler. You can try the method of freezing water bottles in the fridge and putting it around the cage to lower temperatures. I know salamander keepers do this when it gets too hot but this is only a temporary solution and you will have to constantly swap out the water bottles. 

I'll try to post pictures when I get them hehe but yeah, i'll try the freezing water bottle trick with a thermometer inside to monitor