Mesh Enclosure for Idolo

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sporeworld

Reaction score
So, I'm pretty new to 3D stuff (and curves are really frustrating), but here's a rough attempt to illustrate what's on my planner for an Idolo enclosure. I'm looking for suggestions, criticisms, ect.

Plan is to make the first model out of wood and entirely cover the interior object (a "Molt Tower" maybe?) with loose-fitting mesh.

Fixed lighting and Repti-fogged will hang from above. Feeding ports added as needed.

Possibly designed with the Molt Tower mounted to the bottom with struts, and the whole thing sitting in a pan for lift-and-clean access (think rabbit cage).

An alternative would be to just run a ledge all the way around the outside to accomplish the same thing - namely, more horizontal space with vertical climbing surfaces within reach. If the prevailing thoughts are that thin twigs are better than nylon mesh, the surface could be covered with bamboo matts or similar blind-like sheets. Or wicker or something.

Thoughts...?

ProposedIdoloCage1.jpg

I am not sure about a molting tower for any mantis. It seems it would just put the molting platform closer to the floor which is the last thing you would want. The underside of the lid serves the exact same purpose. And if the mantis molts from the lid, the molting tower might pose a hazard. My suggestion would be to remove the tower and looks like you will have a quality cage.

What I'm trying to do is (A) increase the total horizontal surface area and ( B) provide a safer landing for falling mantids (like a safelty net). Alternately, I may just hang vines from the top of the enclosure to the bottom, which would only minimally reduce the walking area on the top, but would provide vertical climbing area within reach. I'm essentially doing that now my putting potted plants inside - same outcome.