No eat and no molt

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lylelovett666

Reaction score
I have not seen my mantis eat for about a week so I assumed that he was getting ready to molt but nothing has happened.He seems very jumpy also.Any ideas?

is it's abdomen flat? What are you feeding it? When did it molt last? What instar is it? Sorry for all the questions, but this will better help determine what the problem is?

What species?Try smaller preys. :)

Last edited by a moderator:
He's eaten crickets over the past couple weeks so I don't think the crickets or the size of the crickets is the problem.I'm new to all this so maybe he is fine.I just thought molting was done about every two weeks or so.

Thanks

Assuming he has no wings/isn't adult, and you are not feeding prey items too large, my next suggestion would be do a major humidity drop. Sometimes it can help to give a flying insect like a fly or moth since those tend to really stimulate mantises appetite, but a week off food doesn't lead me to believe that is the problem. Hand feeding is always an option too though if you think he wants to eat but is having problems. Just pop the head off and gently touch the gooey part to his mandibles. If he starts to chew on it but then keeps pushing it away or turning his head than chances are this is another issue.