wasps

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gripen

Reaction score
does any one feed there mantises wasps? i have never done it because they have large mandibles and can sting as many times as they please. i do feed my mantises bees because they are a great source of nutrition. what do you think?

I'm new to owning mantids, so please take my answer with that in mind. :)

Personally, I wouldn't encourage wasps as mantis food. I'm sure the encounters happen in the wild, but as a pet owner I don't think it would be worthwhile to facilitate that confrontation. Higher risk/low reward factor (not much meat to a wasp) and there are of ton of alternatives that are better and easier for both you and the mantis.

I have never done it, because of the risk. I also really like wasps and bees and I would like to be able to raise both one day. :mellow:

have fed mine bees and wasps in the past and still do with little or no problems whatsoever and also fed them bumblebees since they are in abundance till the cold weather hits!

No serious risk. I think that folks are afraid of wasps themselves. As I've mentioed several times before, the French naturalist Farbre gives a great account of a wasp making a captured bee regurgitate honey and eating the honey while a mantis was eating her. Watch how a mantis holds a wasp or bee. It doesn't give the wasp a chance to bite and rarely to sting.I am absolutely sure that more captive mantids have been killed by crix than by wasps!

I do feed my mantids wasps. I don't like risking my mantids getting stung and so I remove the stinger first (bees and wasps).