A mantids abode

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Murp

Reaction score
im new to mantids i dont have one yet :( but i will soon :p

i will be getting Giant rainforest mantids :D

my big problem is that i dont know how big the cage has to be or

what temperature they like :(

so im asking you :lol:

If you live in Australia then room temp is fine. Though as its getting colder here with the onset of winter you may want to put them in a warm area of the house just to make sure they dont get too cold. As usual, enclosure should be approx 3x he length of the mantid in height and at least 1.5x in length. I used to use the giant frosty cups from Maccas. cut a hole in the side, add some netting, plug the hole in the lid with foam and you got yourself a nifty mantid enclosure. If you ask management at your local store nicely they'll happily give you a 30 pack of those cups for free.

Giant Rainforest Mantid? Could be any thing, you'll have try and find out the scientific name or at least a more common common name (not one that the seller has just made up) if you want some help on it's husbandary. A pic would be good to if you can get it.

Giant Rainforest Mantid? Could be any thing, you'll have try and find out the scientific name or at least a more common common name (not one that the seller has just made up) if you want some help on it's husbandary. A pic would be good to if you can get it.
He does say H.majascula in another post. I guess that they are in culture in the US and Europe, but native to oz, as Superfreak points out. They'd be Very Expensive over here, and not the best choice for a beginner.

I love a mystery, mate, but it does slow us down a bit if we don't know what you normal conditions are. Superfreak is raising this species and the search engine should show you some of her pix. If you get stuck, you might want to contact her.